Celebration Assembly 1 July 2022

This Academic Year started with Covid-19 protocols still in place.  Pupils arriving back to the boarding houses had to follow strict quarantinning guidelines and we experienced a nervous return to normality.  This weekend many students will depart on one of the two overseas trips.  Students in Year 7 and 8 will head off to the Lake District for Activity Week.  It is so good to be back together and during the Celebration Assembly, we took the opportunity to look back at some of the highlights of this term.  While there many prize winners at Prize Giving in November, this blog post shows there were many to give away during this assembly.

Lyke Wake Walk

This ae neet, this ae neet,
Every neet and all,
Fire an’ fleet an’ candleleet,
And Christ receive thy saul

Goes the opening verse of a 14th century poem about the Lyke Wake Walk.  The walk is a North Yorkshire tradition of carrying coffins across the North Yorkshire Moors.  In 1953 Yorkshireman Bill Cowley took this tradition and turned it into a hiking route.  At Scarborough College we continue to honour this tradition.  On 18 June, 37 members of our Sixth Form attempted to complete this walk.  The walk itself is little over 40 miles in length across the widest and highest parts of the North York Moors.  Through quite challenging terrain, hikers must complete the walk in one single day.  In the Celebration Assembly, we congratulated those who manage to complete the half Lyke Wake as well as the full Lyke Wake Walk.

Clara, Emilie W, Katharina, Mia, A’Isha, Amelie, Barbara, Bianca, Book, Bruna, Fynn, George, Heidi, Henry, Ivan, Lily S, Mauricio, Philipp, Sophie, Tenten, Veronika and Mr Weeda completed the half Lyke Wake.

Tomos, Tom P, Lucia, Harry M, Hannah, Guillermo, Frederik, Federica, Emily H, Dario, Daria, Charlie A, Alex, Alessandro, Jack M and James completed the Lyke Wake Walk.  As a result, they have achieved eligibility for membership of the Lyke Wake Club.

Modern Foreign Languages

The Department of Modern Foreign Languages awarded the following pupils for their consistent effort, positive attitude and progress throughout the year:

Year 7: Lily-Mae Hirst & Michael Mulryne
Year 8: Kiara Heron, Hannah Kinsellsa & Max Marshall
Year 9: Aimee Draper & Freya Clarkson-Hall & Sarah King
Year 10: Shalom Ajayi & Sophia Ibbott-Cook & Toby McTurk
Year 12: Federica Meraviglia-Mantegazza & Dasha Karmarzin & Lucía Samper Ibars & Veronika Ruzickova & Clara Ahmadi-Zad


The Maths Department would like to congratulate the following pupils for their efforts in the Junior Maths Challenge:

Bronze Award: Mike Mulryne, Maisie Thomson, Freya Burton, Kiara Heron and Matthew Smith

Silver Award: Zac Alessio (best in year), Josh Fraser, Reeves Marshall

Gold Award: Max Stone (best in year)

Short Term Boarders

At the start of June, just after Half Term, thirteen pupils from around Europe and beyond joined us for a four weeks’ stay.  Their time is nearly up but to mark their stay with us, the following pupils were awarded a Certificate of Attendance: Guillermo, Jorge, Valentin, Stella, Mac, Laura, Linoy, Zoe, Maxime, Dario, Angela, Athenais and Alessandro.

Sports day

Many congratulations to Armstrong House.  Hornby pipped Crews to second place by a single point.  The following pupils broke records on sports day:

Senior Girls’ 300m: Sophie Lohmann (Cooper) 54.80s

Intermediate Boys’ 100m: Edwyn Elliott-Hobson (Hornby) 11.78s

Intermediate Girls’ 100m: Kate Barker (Armstrong) 12.76s

Intermediate Girls’ 800m: Lucy Barker (Armstrong) 2.39.00m

Intermediate Girls’ high jump: Harriett Swiers (Crews) 1.25mtr

Intermediate Girls’ long jump: Kate Barker (Armstrong) 4.29mtr

Junior Boys’ 800m: Ben Guthrie (Armstrong) 2.34.50m

Junior Girls’ 300m: Sophie Dockerty (Cooper) 52.89s

Junior Girls’ high jump: Sophie Dockerty (Cooper) 1.15mtr


Congratulations to the u15 Girls’ tennis team of Tilly Stringer, Lucy Russell, Emma Guthrie, Viktoriia Lozneva, Laura Capuccio, Kate and Lucy Barker.  They were victorious in the tournament held at St Peter’s School.

Girls’ Rounders, Tennis & Cricket

Most improved players Rounders

U12s: Lily Penn

U13s: Imogen Melling

U14s: Robin Pattison

U15s: Lucy Russell

Players of the season Rounders

U12s: Gabi Cooke

U13s: Daisy Lindenberg

U14s: Graci Wood

U15s: Lucy Barker

Most improved player tennis: Kate Barker

Player of the season tennis: Tilly Stringer

Most improved player cricket

U13s: Isabella Jackson

U15s: Amber Scott

Player of the season cricket

U13s: Ginny Pattison

U15s: Olivia Miners

Boys’ cricket

Most improved player

U13s: Mike Mulryne

U15s: Harry Wood

Player of the season

U13s: Evan Chapman

U15s: Josh Branch

Cricket colours (full): Duncan Brown, Cian Dickinson and Breidyn Schaper

Cricket colours (half): Gregor Fraser, Jadon Wilson, Romario Roach, Romario Brathwaite, Jack Carney, Lewis Porter, Alex Burton and Hayden Williamson

House Cup

We award the House Cup to the Academic House with the most points.  Pupils can win house points through several competitions and through hard work.  We would like to recognise the students who have made significant contributions to their Academic Houses.

Year 7

Zac Alessio and Pip Lucas (Armstrong), Mike Mulryne and Gabriel Garcia (Cooper), Natasha Sutcliffe and Megan Young (Crews), Henry Lister-Stafford and Jenni Watti (Hornby)

Year 8

Flora Thornton-Saunby (Armstrong), Izzy Hall (Cooper), Cayton Deshayes-McCourt and Kate Swiers (Crews), Max Marshall (Hornby)

Year 9

Mia Longman (Armstrong), Frey Clarkson-Hall (Cooper), Charlie Sutcliffe (Crews) and Sarah King (Hornby)

Year 10

Lucy Barker (Armstrong), Nicola Keulder (Cooper), Toby McTurk (Crews) and Harris Atkinson (Hornby)

Year 12

Daria Karmazin (Armstrong), James Outhart (Cooper), Sibongile Magudulela (Crews) and Lucia Sampers Ibars (Hornby)


Celebration Assembly




Download Prospectus

Get the latest updates by following us on our social media channels